The first hotel built in Southern Cross
In 1888, soon after the discovery of gold in Southern Cross, a group of prominent businessmen, including Alex Forrest brother of then Premier Sir John Forrest, erected a fairly primitive hotel, the Club Hotel in Southern Cross, WA. In 1889 it was replaced with a more permanent structure and was the departure point for Cobb & Co coaches.
With the discovery of gold at neighbouring Bullfinch Southern Cross became very busy and the Club Hotel was rebuilt in 1910 to her present day, two-storey structure.
All luxury hotel rooms have been fully restored, refitted with attention to the original design returning this grand old lady to its former proud structure.
The CLUB Hotel has teamed up with Australia’s first social media platform Kronircle to showcase our varied and colourful past.